If you are convicted of a first-time DUI in the state of Florida, you will pay a fine of not less than $250 or more than $500, and you will face incarceration for a time period of six months or less, according to state of Florida DUI laws. You will also face a revocation of your driving privilege that will last between 180 days and a year. However, for many first time DUI offenders, there are litanies of alternative sentencing mediums that a Florida DUI attorney can obtain for clients. These alternatives will not only assist clients in avoiding jail time, but also, may significantly reduce the court mandated fines, community service hours, and allow convicted drivers to remain legally licensed in the state of Florida.
License Revocation Periods for First Time DUI Offenders in Florida
Before expiration of the revocation period, you can apply for a hardship license in the county where you live. You must complete DUI School and treatment, if referred. Upon satisfying these requirements, you can apply for a hardship license in any Administrative Reviews Office. If you wait until your revocation period has completely elapsed to reinstate your license, you must prove you have enrolled in or completed DUI School and treatment, if referred. Failure to complete the course within 90 days after reinstatement will result in cancellation of your driver license until the course is completed. Failure to complete treatment may also result in cancellation of your driver license.
Whether your license is fully reinstated or you are given a hardship license, you must take the required examination, and pay $115 administrative fee and $60 reinstatement fee and any other license fee required. For a DUI conviction on or prior to October 1, 2007, you must provide proof of bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of 10,000 per person and $20,000 per occurrence and $10,000 property damage liability on the arrest date or proof of bodily injury liability coverage and a $15 reinstatement fee will be required. Any DUI conviction after October 1, 2007, must provide proof of bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of 100,000 per person, 300,000 per occurrence and 50,000 property damage liability on the arrest date or proof of liability coverage and a reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations will be required.
Call Toll Free 1.866.698.5155 • Free Consultations
Steven G. Casanova, P.A.
Attorney at Law
2323 South Babcock St.
Melbourne, Florida 32901
Phone: 866.698.5155 | Telefax: 321.725.3737
Note: The information contained in this Web site is intended to convey general information. It should not be construed as legal advice or opinion. It is not an offer to represent you, nor is it intended to create an attorney-client relationship. Any email sent via the Internet using email addresses listed in this Web site would not be confidential and would not create an attorney-client relationship.